#Famous by Jilly Gagnon

#Famous by Jilly Gagnon

Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on February 14, 2017

Review Source: Edelweiss, Publisher

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Romance

Plot: Girl has a crush. Girl takes quick pic of said crush and posts it to Flit (kind of like Twitter). Posted pic goes viral and shenanigans ensue.

Review: Here’s the pro / con breakdown.

Pros:

  • Coming out swinging! Jilly Gagnon is a debut author, and her first book is really holding its own. Let’s take a moment to give this gal a round of applause!giphy.gif
  • Likable Characters. The story revolves around Rachel, the shy artsy girl who writes plays and loathes anyone paying too much attention to her, and Kyle, hottie lacrosse player who slings burgers and fries at the mall. The two of them together are the epitome of adorable.
  • Interesting commentary on the pitfalls of social media. One of the things I liked best about #Famous was its exploration of social media and how it impacts everyday relationships. 2016 felt like the year where people truly became aware of how powerful platforms such as Twitter and Facebook can be. #Famous gives readers some serious food for thought about how your virtual presence effects our physical wellbeing.
  • Plenty of action. If you are looking for some mean girls, delicious drama, and plot twists, this one’s for you.

Cons:

  • I wanted more. Before I get into this, let me just reiterate that I am reviewing from an ARC. The book might beef up a bit by final publication. However, as it stands I really wanted the book to go on a little longer. I feel that if Gagnon had stretched the timeline a bit, it would have given her room to increase the suspense, dig into the tough topic of social media use, and avoid an ending that felt a little to neat and tidy.

Final Hoot: This book was like a candy bar. Not a lot of nutritional value, but I ate it up anyway! This was a complete guilty pleasure read. #sorrynotsorry

Rating: 4 out of 5 hoots

Who Should Snag It: Fans of  Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson will want to snap this one up.

*I would like to thank Edelweiss and the publisher for providing me with a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review*

View All

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s