“The Season” by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Published by: Viking Books for Young Readers on July 12, 2016

Review Source: Publisher, Edelweiss

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary Fiction, Light Romance

Plot: Megan McKnight is not your typical debutante. She loathes pink and loves soccer. However, when you are a fourth generation Texas Bluebonnet debutante, there really isn’t any choice but to glam out and conquer the dreaded Texas Dip.

Review: This was such a fun read! Here is the quick and dirty:

  • The characters are likable. Megan is like the book baby of Mia from The Princess Diaries and Bianca from The DUFF. She is sassy, dorky, and lovable. I support her.
  • While there isn’t anything “new” about the plot (girl is a tomboy, girl is put in weird circumstances, shenanigans and romance ensue), I still found it entertaining. I won’t lie to you, the plot was super predictable, partly because of the whole “retelling of Pride and Prejudice” thing, but I STILL liked it. I just did. It’s a solid beach read for this summer.
  • I wish I had more Andrew. He is basically the Mr. Darcy of the book. Need I go on?
  • It really is for New Adults. The publisher is marketing this for ages 14 and up, but the characters and content are geared more towards older teens / early twenties, which is something to consider. However, it was pretty tame in the spice department, so as a librarian I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable giving it to my teen patrons as a book recommendation.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Who Should Snag It: Fans of Meg Cabot or Kody Keplinger will love this one.

*I would like to thank Edelweiss and the publisher for providing me with a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review*

View All

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s