“The Crown’s Game” by Evelyn Skye

The Crown’s Game written by Evelyn Skye

Published by: Balzer + Bray on April 27, 2016

Review Source: Publisher, Edelweiss

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Plot: Triwizard Tournament meets Historical Russian Fiction.

Review: There has been a heavy infusion of Russian historical glamour in YA fiction lately, and while I am not complaining, it did make me wonder how The Crown’s Game would set itself apart in the genre. The solution: by bringing pure unadulterated awesomeness and originality along with it. It reads as if Harry Potter and historical Russian romance made a book baby, and that baby is rad. The character development, pacing, and world building are all on point. Skye’s writing is so beautifully articulate and each page was a joy to read. My only complaint is that I have to wait a year for the next one.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Who Should Snag It: Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Maas will want to add Evelyn Skye as their new author to follow, obsessively.

*I would like to thank Edelweiss and the publisher for providing me with a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review*

View All

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s