“Unhooked” by Lisa Maxwell

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell 

Published by: Simon Pulse on February 2, 2016
Review Source: Publisher, Edelweiss

Genres: Young Adult, Fairy Tales, Romance, Retellings

Plot: Meet Gwendolyn: a slightly disenchanted teen with an eccentric artist mother who is constantly moving them from place to place in order to keep them safe from “monsters”. Gwendolyn has chalked her mother up as nuts, until Gwen and her best friend Olivia are kidnapped by evil shadows and whisked away to a new land. Shenanigans ensue…

Review: I had high hopes for Unhooked. It sounded like it had a lot of things that I like: Peter Pan, fractured fairy tales, pirates, adventure, romance. All good things… except it wasn’t. After some thought, I think that the ultimate problem I had with this was its pace. There isn’t a lot of world building that prepares the readers for Gwendolyn’s (a.k.a. Wendy) adventure in Neverland, and the plot progresses at such a fast clip that it left me feeling like all the characters were extremely shallow. I am also not the biggest fan of insta-love, and felt that her flippancy between the two male protagonists stripped away everything that makes the original Wendy awesome. This isn’t to say that there isn’t anything likable about it. If you are looking for whirlwind romance with a sprinkling of pirates and evil Fae, this might be your jam, but I would really like to see the author flesh out her cast of characters a little more.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Who Should Snag It: I recommend this one for fans of Stephanie Meyers or Maggie Stiefvater.

*I would like to thank Edelweiss and the publisher for providing me with a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review*

View All

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s